The Namibian Journal of Environment covers broad environmental areas of ecology, agriculture, forestry, agro-forestry, social science, economics, water and energy, climate change, planning, land use, pollution, strategic and environmental assessments and related fields. The journal addresses the sustainable development agenda of the country in its broadest context. It publishes two categories of articles: Section A: Peer-reviewed papers include primary research findings, syntheses and reviews, testing of hypotheses, in basic, applied and theoretical research. Section B: Open articles are editor-reviewed. These include research conference abstracts, field observations, preliminary results, new ideas and exchange of opinions, book reviews.

The Namibian Journal of Environment aims to create a platform for scientists, planners, developers, managers and everyone involved in promoting Namibia’s sustainable development.  An Editorial Committee will ensure  that a high standard is maintained.

There is no charge for publishing in Namibian Journal of Environment.

We invite interested parties from all walks of life to submit contributions to be considered for publication.

The journal is published in electronic format only. One volume will be published per year with new articles added on a continual basis.

ISSN: 2026-8327 (online version)


Editorial Committee of the Namibian Journal of Environment






Dr John Irish

Entomology / Biodiversity


Section editor

Mr Kenneth /Uiseb

Wildlife / Conservation

Ministry of Environment & Tourism (MET)

Section editor

Dr Gillian Maggs-Kӧlling

Botany / Vegetation

Gobabeb Research & Training Centre (GRTC)

Section editor

Dr Anna Matros-Goreses

Water & Energy

Namibia University of Science and Technology (NUST)

Section editor

Dr Alfons Mosimane

Human-environment interactions

University of Namibia (UNAM)

Section editor

Dr Chris Brown


Namibian Chamber of Environment (NCE)

Section editor

Dr Ibo Zimmermann

Agriculture / Natural Resource Management

Namibia University of Science and Technology (NUST)

Section editor

Dr M Humavindu

Environmental  & Developmental economics


Consultant editor

Ms Barbara Curtis

General Biology


Committee member

Dr Morgan Hauptfleisch

Wildlife / Natural Resource Management

Namibia University of Science and Technology (NUST)

Committee member

Ms Alice Jarvis

Technical support

Jaro Consultancy